Email Transformation Initiative

 

Over the course of 2015 and 2016, the Email Transformation Initiative (ETI) is moving 550,000 mailboxes of 43 Government of Canada partner organizations from 63 email services to your.email@canada.ca, a common, modern, consolidated, secure, more reliable and more cost-effective email system that will:

  • improve workplace efficiency and productivity;
  • eliminate costly duplication;
  • improve service to Canadians by facilitating access to the Government;
  • raise the overall level of security to better deal with cyber threats; and
  • have one government employee email directory instead of many separate organization-based directories.

Your.email@canada.ca is based on Microsoft Outlook. Government email addresses will be simplified to the “@canada.ca” suffix, thus eliminating acronyms that currently identify departments and agencies in email addresses.

Benefits

  • Service-oriented: A common email address format for government employees means that Canadians will have easier access to the Government of Canada, and in 2016 a new Service Delivery Portal will help employees manage their own email account identity and passwords.
  • Cost-effective: It is anticipated that the new email system will reduce costs, resulting in approximately $50 million in savings annually upon implementation.
  • Secure: Up-to-date technology brings increased protection against cyber threats and privacy breaches. ETI will also enhance program delivery to Canadians and businesses by improving access to the Government.
  • Smarter: A “whole of government” approach modernizes our systems and improves efficiency. ETI is a vanguard project and the first of its kind for an organization as large and complex as the Government of Canada.
  • Blueprint 2020: Email transformation contributes to the development of an information technology platform that underpins the vision of Blueprint 2020 for a modern and world-class public service equipped to serve Canada and Canadians.
  • Simpler: One system will improve communication and reduce duplication. An employee’s email address will remain the same for their entire Government of Canada career and won’t need to change if they move from one of 43 participating organizations to another. Also, employees will be able to see calendars across partner organizations.

Initiative de transformation des services de courriel

 

Grâce à l’Initiative de transformation des services de courriel (ITSC), 550 000 boîtes de courriel de 43 organisations partenaires du gouvernement du Canada réparties dans 63 services de courriel sont passées en 2015, et passeront en 2016, au service votre.courriel@canada.ca, un service de courriel commun, moderne, centralisé, sécurisé, plus fiable et plus rentable qui permettra :

  • d’améliorer la productivité et l’efficience du milieu de travail;
  • d’éliminer les chevauchements coûteux;
  • d’améliorer la prestation de services auprès de la population canadienne en leur facilitant l’accès au gouvernement;
  • d’augmenter le niveau de sécurité global afin de mieux gérer les cybermenaces;
  • d’avoir un seul carnet d’adresses de courriel pour les employés du gouvernement plutôt que de nombreux carnets distincts fondés sur les organisations.  

Le service votre.courriel @canada.ca repose sur Microsoft Outlook. Les adresses de courriel du gouvernement seront simplifiées pour ne contenir que le suffixe « @canada.ca », ce qui éliminera les acronymes servant actuellement à identifier les ministères et organismes.

Avantages

  • Axé sur les services : un format d’adresse de courriel commun à tous les employés de la fonction publique fédérale facilitant l’accès de la population canadienne au gouvernement du Canada, et un nouveau Portail de services permettant aux employés de gérer l’identification de leur compte de courriel et leur mot de passe.

  • Rentable : la mise en œuvre du nouveau système de courriel devant se traduire par des économies annuelles d’environ 50 millions de dollars.

  • Sécurité : une technologie de pointe offrant une meilleure protection contre les cybermenaces et les atteintes à la vie privée. L’ITSC améliorera aussi l’exécution des programmes offerts aux entreprises et à la population canadienne en facilitant l’accès au gouvernement.

  • Plus efficace : une approche pangouvernementale visant à moderniser nos systèmes et à améliorer l’efficience. L’ITSC est un projet d’avant-garde et le premier du genre pour un organisme aussi vaste et complexe que le gouvernement du Canada.

  • Objectif 2020 : La transformation des services de courriel contribue à la création d’une plateforme de technologie de l’information au cœur d’Objectif 2020 visant une fonction publique moderne et de calibre mondial, outillée pour servir la population canadienne.

  • Simplifié : un système de courriel unique améliorant les communications et réduisant les chevauchements. L’adresse de courriel des employés demeurera la même pendant toute la durée de leur carrière au sein de la fonction publique et n’aura pas à être modifiée s’ils acceptent un poste dans l’une ou l’autre des 43 organisations partenaires. De plus, les employés pourront consulter les échéanciers dans l’ensemble des organisations partenaires.